Press Release: Adventurous Symphony Joslyn series ends season with Bizet’s Symphony in C

Program also includes Mumford’s Cello Concerto performed by Christine Lamprea

OMAHA, Neb., May 7, 2019- The Omaha Symphony will perform Carmencomposer Georges Bizet’s only symphony at the closing Symphony Joslyn concert of the season, Bizet’s Symphony in C, Sunday, May 19, 2 p.m., at Joslyn Art Museum.

Led by guest conductor Pablo Rus-Broseta, the program will also feature Debussy’s Petite Suite and Jeffrey Mumford’s Cello Concerto, “of fields unfolding…echoing depths of resonant light” featuring cellist Christine Lamprea, for whom the piece was written.

Although now best known for Carmen, Bizet was a precocious, vastly talented youth, and more known for his skills as a pianist when he was alive than his work as a composer. At the age of 17, he completed his only symphony, the same age Mendelssohn composed his Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream. However, Bizet never sought its performance or publication, and it wasn’t until 80 years after his death that the manuscript was discovered in the library of the Paris Conservatory. The work was finally heard for the first time in 1935. The charming, lyrical symphony is cast in a traditional, four-movement sonata form, with playful and inventive melodies that also recall Mendelssohn’s own Midsummer Night’s Dreammusic.

Jeffrey Mumford, a renowned African-American composer with a Master of Arts degree in Composition, is an extremely visual composer, with much of his influence coming from his study of painting, cloud imagery, and the gradations and intensities of light. His radiant cello concerto is a 22-minute work opening with the solo cello, then answered by a kaleidoscope of orchestral instruments. The bold opening gesture and its journey across the musical landscape revel in multi-hued textures punctuated by emphatic and ever-changing shifts in sonic focus. The cello’s lines soar as an independent voice integrated with the orchestra, and the work’s multiple challenges for the soloist—double, triple, and even quadruple stops, plus two daunting cadenzas—add a sense of undeniable excitement.

Guest conductor Pablo Rus-Broseta is rapidly building a wide-ranging repertoire from Handel to John Adams, with a focus on great symphonic repertoire. During the 18/19 season, he has led the Seattle Symphony, where he is associate conductor, in a large variety of concerts, including Bruch’s Violin Concerto with Itzhak Perlman, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, and a festival of Brahms concertos. He has guest conducted the Houston and North Carolina symphonies, as well as the Palau de les Arts in Valencia, Spain, and SWR Symphonieorchester in Stuttgart, Germany. In 2011, Rus-Broseta founded the Spanish chamber orchestra Grup Mixtour, which aims to revitalize the concert experience through eclectic programming of music from different eras and with diverse aesthetics.

Hailed as a “firebrand” and noted for her “supreme panache,” Columbian-American Christine Lamprea was named among the most recent Sphinx Medal of Excellence winners. The adventurous musician has appeared as a soloist with the Costa Rica National Symphony, and the symphonies of Detroit, Houston, New Jersey, and San Antonio. In demand as a chamber musician, Lamprea performs regularly with the Jupiter Symphony Chamber Players, and has performed with musicians such as Shmuel Ashkenasi, Itzak Perlman, Roger Tapping, and Carol Wincenc. She strives to expand her musical boundaries by exploring many genres of music and non-traditional venues for performance and teaching.

Symphony Joslyn concerts explore the unique connections between art and music. The highlighted work paired with this concert is Men Working, a 1951 oil on canvas painting by Kay Sage. A fitting complement to Mumford’s rigorous cello concerto, Sage’s dreamscape portrays a haunting world that leaves interpretation in the viewer’s hands. Sage’s choice of muted canvases walks the line between realism and fantasy, drawing on the mind’s capacity to blur the distinction between what is real and imagined. Joslyn curators will deliver preconcert talks about this piece at 1 p.m. and 1:25 p.m. in Gallery 16.

Tickets to Bizet’s Symphony in C are $33. Joslyn Art Museum members may purchase single concert tickets for $28.80 each (a 20% savings). Joslyn members must call Ticket Omaha to reserve advance single tickets or show a Joslyn membership card if purchasing tickets at the door the day of the concert. All other tickets can be purchased by visiting www.omahasymphony.orgor by calling Ticket Omaha at 402.345.0606. Student Rush tickets are available one hour prior to the concert. Any student with a valid student ID may purchase up to two Student Rush tickets for $10 each.

Season tickets to the Omaha Symphony’s 2019-20 season are currently on sale. Season subscribers receive one concert on their series free, as well as a discount on other concerts not included in their season ticket package. For more information, visit

The Omaha Symphony is a non-profit organization that presents more than 100 live orchestral performances from September through June. In addition to MasterWorks, Symphony Pops, Symphony Rocks, Movies, Symphony Joslyn, and Family series concerts, the Omaha Symphony’s nationally recognized education and community engagement programs touch the lives of over 40,000 people each year. For tickets or information regarding the Omaha Symphony, call 402-345-0606 or visit


Media Contact:

Stephanie Ludwig

Public Relations Manager

Office 402.661.8587

Cell 402.350.4071